2022 Oratorical Contest Winners

First Place – Emma Jaax
Abilene Christian University, “The Fortune of the Unfortunate: The 1921 Central Texas Flood’s Legacy of Death and Life”

Second Place – Hailey Janysek
Texas Christian University, “170-Mile-Per-Hour Winds of Change: The Story of Hurricane Carla”

Third Place – Elijah Biedinger
Abilene Christian University, “A Little Patch of Heaven”

Fourth Place – Jazmine Castillo
Rice University, “Texas Strong, Come Hell or High Water: Central Texas’ Flash Flood Alley and the September 1921 Floods”

Fifth Place – Jordan Dolen
Texas Tech University, “Lone Star Ladies: Women of the Alamo”