Band Festival

Festival Information

Date: Thursday, April 23, 2015

Gates open at 5 pm
Patriotic Prelude: 6:30 pm
Festival: 7:00 pm

Location: SAISD's Alamo Stadium (110 Tuleta Drive)

Parking: Spectator parking areas will open at 5:00 pm and will be available in select lots at Alamo Stadium, Trinity University, and the SAWS parking garage. Additional open parking is available in the Sunken Gardens and SA Zoo areas.

Guest Conductor: We are thrilled to announce that Dr. Kyle Glaser, Director of Marching Bands at Texas State University, will be our guest conductor this year!

Feature Bands: 
Burbank High School
Clark High School
Reagan High School

Prelude music: TBA


Watch the 2014 Band Festival!


The 76th Battle of Flowers® Band Festival, held on April 24, 2014, was entitled "The Magic of Make Believe!"


Students from more than 30 high school bands from San Antonio and surrounding areas will join forces to present an entertaining musical evening that is undoubtedly one of Fiesta’s most popular events. Some of the highlights will include Herald Trumpets saluting Fiesta royalty, parades of high stepping bands with colorful flags and twirlers, and specially chosen feature bands performing their award-winning UIL shows for the crowd. At the end of the evening, all 3,000 musicians will perform together on the field in a spectacular crowd-pleasing finale!


The Battle of Flowers® Association sponsors an annual competition among area high school students to design the cover for the Band Festival program. From among the entries, 30 drawings will be selected by a local judge. Those entries will be framed and displayed at a reception honoring the students and their art instructors. The top five winners will receive cash awards. The winning submission will be displayed on the cover of more than 10,000 programs.


The Band Festival is organized and sponsored by the Battle of Flowers® Association, which was chartered in 1914 with the mission of celebrating Texas history. The Band Festival first became a part of Fiesta in 1935. An executive committee composed of area band directors and music educators works with Battle of Flowers® Association volunteers to plan the evening’s program.


For more information email



2014 Band Festival Winners:

5A 1st Place: Jay
5A 2nd Place: East Central

4A 1st Place: Brennan
4A 2nd Place: Jefferson

3A 1st Place: Sam Houston
3A 2nd Place: Somerset

Peoples Choice: Jay
Spirit Award: Harlandale